Press Release 01/18 - Páll Hreinsson elected President of the EFTA Court >
25.04.2017 11:46 Age: 1 year
Category: 2017, 2017

Press Release 04/17 - Judicial Summit of the EFTA Pillar

From 2 to 4 May 2017, the Supreme Courts of Iceland and of Norway in corpore and Judges from the three highest courts of Liechtenstein – State Court, Supreme Court and Administrative Court – will pay an official visit to the Court. The respective groups will be headed by President Thorgeir Örlygsson from the Supreme Court of Iceland, President Hubertus Schumacher from the Supreme Court of Liechtenstein and Chief Justice Toril Marie Øie from the Supreme Court of Norway. On 4 May 2017, the group will be joined by the Judges from the three EEA/EFTA States of the European Court of Human Rights. The Judges will discuss matters of common interest with a special focus on the two most important principles of EEA law: homogeneity and reciprocity. They will also deal with possible consequences of Brexit for the EEA and with the British criticism levied at the European Court of Human Rights. The visitors will moreover attend oral hearings at the Court and at the Court of Justice of the European Union.