The EFTA Court Fifteen Years On


by Prof. Dr. Carl Baudenbacher, President of the EFTA Court

The EEA Agreement is based on a two pillar structure, the EC forming one pillar and EEA/EFTA the other. EEA law originates in EC law. The EFTA States have no co-decision rights in drafting new EC legislation, but they enjoy participation rights in the decision-shaping phase and they may veto the adoption of new EC legislation into the EEA/EFTA pillar. (read more)

Carl Baudenbacher elected President of the EFTA Court for a third term


Carl Baudenbacher has been elected President of the EFTA Court for a third three-year term on 6 January 2009. In 1995, Mr Baudenbacher, a Swiss citizen, was appointed to the EFTA bench upon a proposal by Principality of Liechtenstein. Since 2003, he has been the Court’s President. The EFTA Court, the ECJ’s sister Court in the EEA, consists of three judges and six ad hoc judges from its member states of Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.