Judges and Staff

HREINSSON Páll, President

20 February 1963, in Reykjavík, Iceland.

Cand. Juris 1988 from the University of Iceland. Visitor student in Administrative Law and Public Administration at the University of Copenhagen 1990-1991. Doctor Juris 2005 from the University of Iceland.

Professional Career:

  • Assistant Judge, City Court of Reykjavík, 1988–1991.
  • Special Assistant, The Althing Ombudsman (The Parliamentary Ombudsman’s Office), 1991-1998.
  • Associate Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Iceland, 1998–1999. Professor of Law, University of Iceland, 1999-2007
  • Vice-Dean, Faculty of Law, University of Iceland, 2002-2005.
  • Dean, Faculty of Law, University of Iceland, 2005–2007.
  • Judge, Supreme Court of Iceland, 2007-2011.
  • Judge of the EFTA Court since 15 September 2011.
  • President of the EFTA Court since 1 January 2018.

13 books and 42 articles on Administrative law, constitutional law and law of obligations.

Occupational activities under Article 4 of the Statute of the EFTA Court:
No current activities.


  • HJARTARSON, Arnaldur - Legal Secretary (Head of Cabinet)
  • MAGNÚSSON STEPHENSEN, Sindri - Legal Secretary
  • LOURENÇO, Luísa - Legal Secretary
  • EYJÓLFSDÓTTIR, Hrafnhildur Mary - Personal Assistant




1 September 1947, in Basel, Switzerland, citizen of Murten.

University of Berne 1967–1971; Dr. jur. University of Berne 1978, Alexander-von-Humboldt-scholar, Max Planck Institute of Intellectual Property Law Munich 1979–1981, Habilitation/Privatdozent University of Zurich 1983.

Professional Career:

  • University of Berne and Zurich, Assistant, 1972–1978.
  • Legal Secretary, Bulach District Court, 1982–1984.
  • Visiting Professor, Universities of Bochum, Berlin, Tübingen, Marburg, Saarbrücken, 1984–1986.
  • Professor of Private Law, University of Kaiserslautern, 1987.
  • Chair of Private, Commercial and Economic Law, University of St. Gallen, 1987-2013.
  • Managing Director of the University of St. Gallen Institute of European Law, 1991-2013.
  • Visiting Professor, University of Geneva, 1991.
  • Expert advisor to the Liechtenstein Government in EEA matters, 1990–1994.
  • Visiting Professor, University of Texas School of Law, 1993–2004.
  • Chairman of the St. Gallen International Competition Law Forum since 1993.
  • Offered the Chair of German and European Private, Commercial, and Economic law at the University of Bochum, 1994.
  • Judge of the EFTA Court since 6 September 1995. Reappointed on the 6 September 2013 for six years.
  • President of the EFTA Court from 2003 to 2017.
  • Dr. rer. pol. honoris causae, Leuphana University Lüneburg, 2012

40 books and over 200 articles on European and International law, law of obligations, labour law, law of unfair competition, antitrust law, company law, intellectual property law, comparative law and the law of international courts and arbitration tribunals.

Occupational activities under Article 4 of the Statute of the EFTA Court:
Director of the Competence Center of European and International Law at the Unversity of St Gallen (Switzerland). Remunerated.


  • CLIFTON, Michael-James - Legal Secretary
  • HAAS, Theresa - Legal Secretary
  • SCHWIESOW, Kerstin - Personal Assistant




26 October 1949 in Larvik, Norway.

1976: Cand Jur (University of Oslo); 1988: Dr Juris (University of Oslo); 2005-06: Fulbright Scholar at George Washington University, Law School, Washington DC.

Professional Career:

  • Judge of the EFTA Court since 17 January 2011
  • 1997-2011: Professor of Law at the University of Tromsø, Norway
  • 1998-2002: Advocate at Advokatfirmaet PricewaterhouseCoopers DA
  • 1995-1998: Registrar at the EFTA Court
  • 1994-1995: Director General of the Financial Markets Department, Ministry of Finance
  • 1988-1994: Counsellor, Norwegian Mission to the European Communities (Brussels)
  • 1986-1988: Assistant Director General of the Economic Policy Department, Ministry of Finance
  • 1985-1986: Head of Office and Secretary to the Board of Governors, Norges Bank
  • 1982-1985: Head of Division (Deputy Director, 1984) in the Economic Policy Department, Ministry of Finance
  • 1976-1982: Legal Counsellor, Norges Bank

Various publications related to international, EU and EEA law and financial law.

Occupational activities under Article 4 of the Statute of the EFTA Court:
Part time Professor at the University of Tromsø teaching EU/EEA law and Constitutional law. Remunerated


  • REINHOLDTSEN, Jørgen - Legal Secretary
  • DYSTLAND, Marthe Kristine Fjeld - Legal Secretary
  • NÆSHEIM, Silje - Personal Assistant



SELVIK Gunnar , Registrar

13 November 1963, in Bergen, Norway


  • 1994: Special subject EEA law, University of Oslo
  • 1992: Norwegian Law Degree, University of Oslo
  • 1986: Master’s degree in Economics, Royal Norwegian Naval Academy


  • Registrar of the EFTA Court since 1 September 2012.
  • Director, Goods Division, EFTA Secretariat, Brussels, Belgium, 2006-12.
  • Director, West Norway Office, Brussels, Belgium/Bergen, Norway, 2003-06.
  • Senior Project leader/lawyer, Interpro AS, Bergen, Norway, 2001-03.
  • Registrar, EFTA Court, Luxembourg 1998-2001.
  • Financial Officer/Treasury Officer, NACMA (NATO), Brussels, Belgium, 1992-98.
  • Miscellaneous posts as officer in the Norwegian Navy, 1986-92.

The development and planning of the Haukeland University Hospital, Bergen, Norway. The academic status of officers graduated from the Norwegian Naval Academy.




E-mail addresses are composed as follows: firstname.lastname@eftacourt.int

  • BÚASON, Birgir Hrafn - Lawyer Administrator
  • BRUHN, Harriet - Senior Administration/Finance Officer
  • MAZUR Tomasz - Administration/Finance Officer
  • WORTELBOER Sharon - Administrative Assistant
  • BISCHOFF, Candy - Administrative Assistant
  • LEMMER, Annette - Receptionist/Administrative Assistant
  • CARUSO, Thierry - Caretaker/Driver